Over the past decade, the Conservation Law Center has grown steadily.  Together, we have trained over 200 student interns.


Conservation Law Center
116 S Indiana Ave, Ste 4
Bloomington, IN 47408

T 812 856 0229
F 812 855 1828

Looking for a specific person? Find direct contact information for attorneys and staff below.


Normal Office Hours
9AM - 5PM

For general inquiries, contact us at

(812) 856-0229 or admin@conservationlawcenter.org





Christian Freitag joined Conservation Law Center in 2019 as its second Executive Director, replacing CLC’s founder and longtime Director W. William Weeks.  For the previous 18 years, Christian served as Executive Director of Sycamore Land Trust, a nonprofit land conservation organization in southern Indiana. Christian graduated from Indiana University’s Maurer School of Law in 1997, and clerked from Chief Justice Randall T. Shepard at the Indiana Supreme Court. Christian received his PhD from Indiana University’s School of Public and Environmental Affairs in 2010, where his research focused on the implementation of the National Environmental Policy Act on public agencies including the US Forest Service. He lives in the beautiful unglaciated hardwood forests of southern Indiana with his wife Paige and two Labrador retrievers.


(812) 855-4230



Mr. Hyman practices conservation and environmental law with the Conservation Law Center. Before coming to the Center, Jeff was law clerk to Federal District Court Judge David Hamilton and practiced public interest litigation at Polk Hyman & Associates in Indianapolis. Jeff also holds a Ph.D. in Ecology and has worked on a variety of conservation issues over the years, including restoration of Pacific Northwest salmon populations and regional wetlands management. Jeff graduated magna cum laude from Indiana University Maurer School of Law—Bloomington in 2003. Jeff is a member of the U. S. Supreme Court Bar.


(812) 856-5737



Lily Bonwich studied studio art and environmental geoscience at DePauw University. She served as Public Relations officer for the DePauw Environmental Club, Environmental Chair for her sorority, and co-founder of a reusable bottle initiative that reduced the sale of plastic bottles on campus. Lily is also a founding board member of the Friends of Lake Monroe in Bloomington and 2019 graduate of the Indiana Watershed Leadership Academy. She provides administrative and development support for the Center.


(812) 856-0819



Joe is a graduate of Washington University School of Law in St. Louis and Indiana University. While at WashU, Joe was Vice-President of the American Constitution Society and an Intern for the Interdisciplinary Environmental Law Clinic. He spent his law school summers working on Mayor Joe Hogsett’s Campaign and as a law clerk for the Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Office of General Counsel. Joe entered law school seeking to serve the public interest and has found a perfect fit at the CLC, protecting and preserving Indiana’s unique and beautiful natural world.


(317) 278-6336



Ann (Sallade) Maxwell is one of the founders and a current Director of the Stone Head Conservancy, which oversees the operation and care of a nature preserve in Brown County, Indiana. She is a past Director of the Sassafras Audubon Society in Bloomington and is an avid birder. Ann also was instrumental in planning and co-hosting Eagle Watch Weekend at Lake Monroe for over a decade.

In her former lives, Ann worked for more than ten years in retail banking, earning the title of Assistant Vice President. Later, she retired from the Monroe County Sheriff’s Department after a total of seventeen years in law enforcement, as a Police Officer, Deputy Sheriff, Sergeant, and Detective.


(812) 856-0229


Board of Directors

W. William Weeks, Chair

Founder & Former Director at Conservation Law Center

Former Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer at The Nature Conservancy

Robert L. Fischman, Secretary

Richard S. Melvin Professor of Law at Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Lisa C. McKinney

Attorney at Bose McKinney & Evans LLP

Glenn Scolnik

Chairman & Managing Partner at Monument Microcap Partners

Senior Advisor at Hammond Kennedy Whitney & Co.

Randall T. Shepard

Senior Judge at Indiana Court of Appeals

Chief Justice (retired) at Indiana Supreme Court

Elizabeth A. Smith

Executive Director at Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation, Inc.

Catherine Wilkinson, Treasurer

Certified Public Accountant at Steptoe & Johnson LLP


Of Counsel

W. William Weeks, Professor Emeritus at Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Micheal Dennis, Former Lead Counsel of The Nature Conservancy

Andrea R. Need, Professor at Indiana University O’Niell School of Public and Environmental Affairs

2016-08-26 10.27.40.jpg
2017-10-02 12.59.00.jpg
2017-06-12 15.04.33.jpg
A celebratory toast.jpg
2017-09-28 09.54.17.jpg